

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

"ABBOTT ELEMENTARY" AND TOP GUN: MAVERICK PUBLICITY CAMPAIGNS WIN TOP HONORS AT THE 60TH ANNUAL ICG PUBLICISTS AWARDS

Quinta Brunson Accepts the TV Showperson Award; Motion Picture Showpersons Award Presented to Jerry Bruckheimer on Behalf of Producers of *Top Gun: Maverick*

PHOTOS AVAILABLE AT http://bit.ly/3YveLMg

BEVERLY HILLS, March 10, 2023 — The ICG Publicists (The International Cinematographers Guild, IATSE Local 600) announced winners of its 60th Annual ICG Publicists Awards in nine categories honoring excellence in publicity and promotional campaigns for motion picture and television programs. "Abbott Elementary" (Warner Bros. Television/ABC) won the Maxwell Weinberg Award for Television Publicity Campaign, presented by Mychal-Bella Bowman ("The Underground Railroad"). *Top Gun: Maverick* (Paramount Pictures/Skydance/Jerry Bruckheimer Films) won the Maxwell Weinberg Award for Motion Picture Publicity Campaign, presented by Vanessa Vanjie Mateo ("RuPaul's Drag Race"). This year's luncheon, held at The Beverly Hilton, was chaired by Tim Menke and Sheryl Main.

"It was great to once again take time to celebrate publicists, especially this year at our 60th Annual Awards Luncheon. A big congratulations to all of today's award nominees and recipients," said Menke.

Multi-award-winning writer, producer, comedian and actor **Quinta Brunson**, creator of ABC and Warner Bros. Television's groundbreaking TV series "Abbott Elementary," was bestowed with the 2023 Television Showperson Award, presented by **Lisa Ann Walter**, star of "Abbott Elementary." Honored as one of *Time Magazine*'s "Time 100: The Most Influential People of 2022" and dubbed "the new queen of sitcoms" by *New York Magazine*, Brunson is a history-making, creative force.

For *Top Gun: Maverick*, **Jerry Bruckheimer** accepted the 2023 Motion Picture Showpersons Award on behalf of his fellow producers **Tom Cruise**, **Christopher McQuarrie** and **David Ellison**, presented by **Danny Ramirez**, *Top Gun: Maverick's* "Fanboy." Nominated for six Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Paramount Pictures' *Top Gun: Maverick* was one of the highest grossing films of 2022, with over \$1.4 billion worldwide.

The Les Mason Award, the highest honor the publicists can bestow on one of its own members, was presented to **Karen Chamberlain** (Warner Bros. Pictures) by **Utkarsh Ambudkar** ("Ghosts"). The Publicist of the Year Award

was bestowed upon **Sara Hull** (The Walt Disney Studios), presented by **Joseph Mazzello** (*Bohemian Rhapsody*). The Bob Yeager Award for Community Service was given to Unit Publicist **James Ferrera** for his passionate efforts to raise funds to rescue animals with his organization <u>Pookie Helps</u>, presented by **Jaylen Barron** (*Blindspotting*).

Honors for Excellence in Still Photography, resulting in a tie, were awarded to **Beth Dubber** and **Hillary Bronwyn Gayle** (Television) and **Eli Joshua Adé** (Motion Picture), respectively, presented by **Amber Midthunder** (*Prey*). **Andy Reyes** from "Entertainment Tonight" was honored with the Press Award, and **Yong Chavez**, ABS-CBN News (Philippines), received the International Media Award, both presented by **Ethan Peck** ("Star Trek: Strange New World").

Baird Steptoe, Local 706 National President, congratulated the ICG Publicists on their 60-year history. The ICG Publicists also recognized the centennial anniversaries of Warner Bros. Studios, presented by **Ben Mankiewicz** (Turner Classic Movies), and The Walt Disney Studios, spotlighted by **Ming-Na Wen** (*Mulan*, "The Mandalorian"). **Bob Beitcher**, MPTF President & CEO, spoke about the Motion Picture & Television Fund.

60th Annual ICG Publicists Awards Winners:

MAXWELL WEINBERG AWARD FOR TELEVISION PUBLICITY CAMPAIGN *The union publicists who worked on publicity campaigns on behalf of:*

"Abbott Elementary" (Warner Bros. Television / ABC)

MAXWELL WEINBERG AWARD FOR MOTION PICTURE PUBLICITY CAMPAIGN: The union publicists who worked on publicity campaigns on behalf of:

Top Gun: Maverick (Paramount Pictures/Skydance/Jerry Bruckheimer Films)

LES MASON AWARD FOR CAREER ACHIEVEMENT IN PUBLICITY

Karen Chamberlain. Warner Bros. Pictures

PUBLICIST OF THE YEAR AWARD

Sara Hull, Walt Disney Studios

BOB YEAGER AWARD FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE

James Ferrera, Unit Publicist

EXCELLENCE IN UNIT STILL PHOTOGRAPHY AWARD – MOTION PICTURES

Eli Joshua Adé

EXCELLENCE IN UNIT STILL PHOTOGRAPHY AWARD – TELEVISION *TIE**

Beth Dubber Hilary Bronwyn Gayle

PRESS AWARD

Andy Reyes, Entertainment Tonight

INTERNATIONAL MEDIA AWARD

Yong Chavez, ABS-CBN News (Philippines)

Also attending the ICG Publicist Awards was **Matt Loeb,** IATSE International President, and **Mike Miller**, IATSE International Vice President.

The 60th Annual ICG Publicists Awards gratefully acknowledges the following sponsors including <u>LUMINARY</u> <u>SPONSORS</u>: 20th Century Studios – Walt Disney Television, Amazon Studios/Amazon Original Movies, Deadline Hollywood, Junket Productions Inc., Netflix, Paramount Pictures, Sony Pictures, Universal Pictures, The Walt Disney Studios, Warner Bros. Pictures, Warner Bros. Television; <u>ICON SPONSORS</u>: CBS Studios, SAG-AFTRA, Universal Pictures, The Walt Disney Studios; <u>MEDIA SPONSORS</u>: Digital Fusion, The Hollywood Reporter, SHOOT Magazine/SHOOTonline, Variety, and The Wrap.

[editors, please use "ICG PUBLICISTS"]

ABOUT THE ICG PUBLICISTS: Entertainment publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, later becoming the Publicists Guild. In 2002, the Publicists Guild merged with the International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600). The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1964 and has since grown to an event attended annually by nearly 800 publicists, press, motion picture and television industry leaders, and other IATSE leaders. Motion Picture and Television Showmanship Awards and Lifetime Achievement Awards have been bestowed upon numerous esteemed actors, directors and executives. Additional awards include the Maxwell Weinberg Awards for a Television Publicity Campaign and for a Motion Picture Publicity Campaign, Les Mason Award for Career Achievement in Publicity, and the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service. The Guild also publishes the Annual ICG Publicists Directory. For more information about the ICG Publicists Awards, visit: www.icg600.com/ABOUT-US/Awards/Publicists-Awards #PublicistsAwards

ABOUT THE INTERNATIONAL CINEMATOGRAPHERS GUILD (ICG) IATSE Local 600: The International Cinematographers Guild represents over 9,000 members who work in film, television, streaming and commercials as directors of photography, camera operators, digital imaging technicians, visual effects supervisors, still photographers, camera assistants, film loaders, broadcasters and all members of camera crews and publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn't until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. In addition to its work organizing, bargaining and enforcing contracts, advocating for legislation that serves working families, training and mentorship, ICG's ongoing events include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.

CONNECT WITH THE ICG:

Website: ICG600.com

Facebook: facebook.com/icglocal600
Twitter: twitter.com/ICGLocal600
Instagram: instagram.com/ICGlocal600

ICG Magazine: icgmagazine.com

MEDIA INQUIRIES:

 $We is sman/Markovitz\ Communications \cdot Cheri\ Warner \cdot Rick\ Markovitz\ 818.760.8995 \cdot \underline{cheri@publicity4all.com} \cdot \underline{rick@publicity4all.com}$