

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ANTHONY AND JOE RUSSO TO RECEIVE ICG PUBLICISTS MOTION PICTURE SHOWMAN AWARD



Award to be Presented at 57th Annual International Cinematographers Guild's Publicists Awards, Feb 7

Los Angeles, September 18, 2019 — Anthony and Joe Russo, who helmed Marvel Studios' critically acclaimed *Avengers: Endgame*, are set to receive the prestigious <u>International</u> <u>Cinematographers Guild</u> (ICG, IATSE Local 600) Publicists Motion Picture Showman of the Year Award for their historic contributions to the art of cinema and television. The 57th Annual Publicists Awards ceremony, which traditionally occurs the week leading up to the Academy Awards®, will be held in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Friday, February 7, 2020.

"Anthony and Joe Russo have made a huge impact in cinema with the record-breaking *Avengers* and *Captain America* films," said Lewis Rothenberg, National President of the ICG. "They have taken audiences around the world on a wild journey with their unique and imaginative brand of storytelling and are two of the most exciting innovators in our industry today. We are thrilled to celebrate their cinematic showmanship and commitment to nurturing new talent."

Anthony and Joe Russo are the artists and innovators of some of the world's most successful and iconic blockbuster films and television shows. They are the only directors to direct four record-breaking and critically acclaimed films in the Marvel Cinematic Universe: *Captain America: The Winter Soldier* (2014), *Captain America: Civil War* (2016), *Avengers: Infinity War* (2018), and *Avengers: Endgame* is the highest-grossing film of all-time, bringing in \$2.79 billion, obliterating their own record set with *Avengers: Infinity War. Endgame* broke more than 100 box-office records, including best opening weekend of any movie in history.

The versatile filmmakers' unique visions place them among the top-grossing directors of all time with a total box-office revenue in excess of \$6.8 billion. Their creative story telling talents have expanded into television with critically acclaimed shows including *Arrested Development*, for which they won an Emmy® Award, *Community*, *Happy Endings* and *Deadly Class*, among others.

In 2018, Anthony and Joe Russo opened their new studio, AGBO, an artist-led collective focusing on creating global content for film, television and digital platforms. They are also co-founders of Bullitt, a creative studio centered on brand-integrated entertainment and advertising content. The Russo's recently premiered their film *Mosul*, directed by Matthew Michael Carnahan, at the Venice and Toronto Film Festivals. They are set to direct *Cherry* this fall starring Tom Holland, and they have produced *Dhaka* starring Chris Hemsworth, scheduled to premiere first quarter of 2020 from Netflix.

Awards chair this year is Tim Menke with Sheryl Main serving as co-chair. The awards will be presented in the following categories: Motion Picture Showman of the Year, Television Showman of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, The Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Award for Motion Picture Campaign, The Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Award for Television Campaign, Les Mason Award for Career Achievement in Publicity, and the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service. More than 800 industry leaders are expected to attend the awards luncheon.

Further inquiries regarding the ICG Publicists Awards may be directed to MaryAnne MacDougall, ICG Events Manager, at 323.969.2728, MMacDougall@icg600.com. For tickets, contact Joanna Mousseau, ICG Events Coordinator, at 323.969.2741, JMousseau@icg600.com. Media sponsors include The Hollywood Reporter, IndieWire, SHOOT Magazine/ SHOOTonline, and Variety.

ABOUT THE ICG PUBLICISTS: Entertainment publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, later becoming the Publicists Guild. In 2002, the Publicists Guild merged with the International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600). The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1964 and has since grown to an event attended annually by around 800 publicists, press, motion picture and television industry leaders, and other IATSE leaders. Motion Picture and Television Showmanship Awards and Lifetime Achievement Awards have been bestowed upon numerous esteemed actors, directors and executives. Additional awards include the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Award for a Television Campaign and for a Movie Campaign, Les Mason Award for Career Achievement in Publicity, and the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service. The Guild also publishes the Annual ICG

Publicists Directory. For more information about the ICG Publicists Awards, visit: www.icg600.com/ABOUT-US/Awards/Publicists-Awards #PublicistsAwards

ABOUT THE INTERNATIONAL CINEMATOGRAPHERS GUILD (ICG) IATSE Local 600: The International Cinematographers Guild represents approximately 9,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as directors of photography, camera operators, digital imaging technicians, visual effects supervisors, still photographers, camera assistants, film loaders, all members of camera crews and publicists. The first cinematographers' union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn't until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG's ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning *ICG Magazine*.

CONNECT WITH THE ICG:

Website: ICG600.com

Facebook: facebook.com/icglocal600

Twitter: twitter.com/ICGLocal600

Instagram: instagram.com/ICGlocal600

###

FOR MEDIA INFORMATION:

Cheri Warner · Erick Yamagata · Weissman/Markovitz Communications 818.760.8995 · cheri@publicity4all.com · erick@publicity4all.com

FOR SPONSORSHIP/ADVERTISING:

Bill Moran O: 818.349.2171 · M: 818.421.3301 · BillMoran007@yahoo.com

Ken Harwood O: 323.969.2745 · KHarwood@icg600.com 2020 ICG Publicists Sponsorship Levels: bit.ly/2x64Suu 2020 ICG Publicists Directory Advertising: bit.ly/2XUjEQN

INFORMATION ABOUT LAST YEAR'S 56TH ANNUAL ICG PUBLICISTS AWARDS:

Winners: bit.ly/2Jp9LHj Photos: bit.ly/30t4fc3
