

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Bob and Harvey Weinstein Receive Motion Picture Showmanship Award from Billy Bob Thornton

Chelsea Handler Gives TV Showmanship Award to Netflix's Ted Sarandos at 52nd Annual ICG Publicists Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award for Bob Newhart; President's Award to Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs

Publicist Awards photography available by going to www.image.net/publicistsguildawards

BEVERLY HILLS, Feb. 20, 2015— More than 900 Hollywood publicity and marketing executives, producers, studio and network executives, celebrities and press gathered for the International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) <u>52nd Annual Publicists Awards</u> at the Beverly Hilton Hotel today, chaired by Henri Bollinger and co-chaired by Tim Menke.

In his opening remarks Steven Poster, ASC., president of the International Cinematographers Guild, in noting the theme of this year's luncheon, said, "We live in the age of social media and there's no turning back. That's why we appreciate social media today and celebrate the talented publicists who are making it work for the dynamic entertainment industry we're proud to be part of. We have a lot of very impressive people here today, all thanks to our talented publicists."

Henri Bollinger added, "We sing the praises of those who have excelled in an art form that dates back to the earliest days of circuses and vaudeville. When these awards were first handed out 52 years ago, self-promotion by publicists was reason for getting fired. It's clear that we've progressed considerably since then."

Bob and **Harvey Weinstein**, co-chairmen of The Weinstein Company, were presented the Motion Picture Showmanship Award by **Billy Bob Thornton** (*The Judge*), while **Ted Sarandos**, Chief Content Officer of Netflix, received the Television Showmanship Award from **Chelsea Handler**, who has entered into a multi-tiered deal with the Internet TV network.

Much loved comedian/actor **Bob Newhart** received a Lifetime Achievement Award. The President's Award was presented to **Cheryl Boone Isaacs**, president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences® by **Ava DuVernay**, director of the Oscar® nominated film *Selma*, and **Steven Poster, ASC.**, president of the International Cinematographers Guild.

WINNERS

Les Mason Award. The highest honor publicists can bestow on one of their own. **MELISSA KATES,** Viewpoint PR

Bob Yeager Award for community service: JUSTINE GAMEZ, Warner Bros. publicist

Press Award: DAVE KARGER, Fandango.com

International Media Award: ROCIO AYUSO, Spain

Maxwell Weinberg Award for Best Publicity Campaign for a Motion Picture: *THE INTERVIEW* (Columbia Pictures): Publicist ANDRE CARACO and team.

Maxwell Weinberg Award for Best Publicity Campaign for a Television Program: JANE THE VIRGIN (CBS Television Studios). ARPI KETENDJIAN accepted the award

Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Motion Pictures Award: WILSON WEBB

Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Television Award: URSULA COYOTE

PRESENTERS

Billy Bob Thornton (*The Judge*), **Octavia Spencer** (*Black or White*), **Chelsea Handler** (*Uganda Be Kidding Me Live*), **Ava DuVernay** (*Selma*), **Melora Hardin** (*Transparent*), **Bruce Davison** (*X-Men series*), **Tony Denison** (*Major Crimes*), **Scott Eastwood** (*Snowden*), **Maddalena Ischiale** (*Unbroken*).

Sponsors of the event are 20th Century Fox, Warner Bros., Netflix, The Weinstein Company in conjunction with Dimension Films, Universal Pictures, Paramount Pictures, Creative Handbook, E! Entertainment, Junket Productions, MDS West John Drinker Group, Relativity Media, Sony Pictures, *The Hollywood Reporter, Variety,* Walt Disney Studios, Warner Bros. Photo Lab, Will Rogers Motion Pictures Pioneers Foundation, *Below The Line*, City National Bank, Executive Limousine, Goodnight & Company, Sony Electronics in conjunction with Fujinon.

About the International Cinematographers Guild:

The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents more than 7,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as Directors of Photography, Camera Operators, Visual Effects Supervisors, Still Photographers, Camera Assistants, Film Loaders, all members of camera crews and Publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn't until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG's ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine. www.cameraguild.com.

Connect with the International Cinematographers Guild: Website: <u>www.cameraguild.com</u> Facebook: <u>https://www.facebook.com/cameraguild</u> Twitter: <u>https://twitter.com/ICGLocal600</u>

###

FOR FURTHER PRESS INFORMATION CONTACT:

Leonard Morpurgo Weissman/Markovitz Communications O: (818) 760-8995 M: (818) 731-3513 Ieonard@publicity4all.com

Cheri Warner M: (818) 390-0999 cheri@publicity4all.com