

50th Annual ICG Publicists Awards Salute Kirk Douglas with Lifetime Achievement Award

Argo, USA Network, and Marvel Studios Receive Honors

Robert Downey Jr., Sally Field, Corbin Bernsen, Matt Bomer, Piper Perabo and Robert Knepper Among Presenters

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 22 – Close to a thousand Hollywood publicity and marketing executives, producers, studio and network executives, celebrities, and press gathered for the International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) 50th Annual Publicists Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel today. Theo Von, star of Yahoo!'s *Prime Time In No Time*, hosted.

Kirk Douglas received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Ron Meyer, president and COO of Universal Studios. In a surprise appearance Robert Downey Jr. presented the Motion Picture Showmanship Award to Kevin Feige, president of Marvel Studios, while the Television Showmanship Award went to the co-presidents of USA Network, Chris McCumber and Jeff Wachtel, presented to them by star of *Covert Affairs*, Matt Bomer and Piper Perabo, star of the network's *White Collar*.

Surprise presenter Sally Field awarded publicist Heidi Schaeffer of PMK/BNC with this year's Les Mason Award, the highest honor publicists can pay to one of their own.

Corbin Bernsen, star of *L.A. Law* and USA's current hit *Psych*, presented the Press Award to Deadline Hollywood's Pete Hammond, while the International Media Award went to James White of the UK. Two 14-year-olds from Kabul, Afghanistan, Fawad Mohammadi and Jawanmard Paiz, stars of the Oscar® nominated Live Action Short, *Buzkashi Boys*, made this presentation.

Sharon Black, winner of the award last year, presented the Bob Yeager Award to Linda Weitzler in recognition of her community work. Weitzler belongs to the Volunteer League, which helps clothe needy children; is part of a 22-voice choir that performs at nursing homes; and serves on the board of the Fulfillment Fund helping under privileged kids to go to college; among other nonprofit efforts.

The Maxwell Weinberg Award for Best Publicity Campaign for a Motion Picture went to the publicity team from Warner Bros. for *Argo*, presented by Chi McBride, one of the stars of CBS' upcoming series *Golden Boy*, which will be premiering February 26. McBride also handed the Maxwell Weinberg Television Campaign Award to the publicists for their work on Showtime's *Homeland*.

Robert Knepper, one of the stars of new CW midseason series *Cult*, which premiered February 19, presented the Excellence in Still Photography for Motion Pictures Award to Jaimie Trueblood and the Television Still Photography Award to Suzanne Tenner.

ICG President Steven Poster began the ceremony by highlighting the important contributions publicists make to the industry. He also welcomed IATSE President Matt Loeb who flew in from New York for the occasion.

###

FOR FURTHER PRESS INFORMATION CONTACT:

Leonard Morpurgo
Weissman/Markovitz Communications
leonard@publicity4all.com

o: (818) 760-8995 m: (818) 731-3513

Cheri Warner cheri@publicity4all.com m: (818) 390-0999