

David Heyman, Producer of *Harry Potter* Franchise, To Receive Publicists' Motion Picture Showman of the Year Award

Los Angeles, December 6, 2011: David Heyman, producer of the *Harry Potter* films, the most successful film franchise of all time, will receive the Motion Picture Showman of the Year award at the International Cinematographers Guild (ICG) 49th annual Publicists Awards Luncheon to be held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on February 24, 2012, it was announced today by ICG president Steven Poster and Henri Bollinger, Awards Committee Chairman.

Heyman is currently producing several upcoming film projects, including Alfonso Cuarón's *Gravity*, starring Robert Downey Jr., and *The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time*, based on the book by Mark Haddon, to be scripted and directed by Steve Kloves.

Apart from the *Harry Potter* films, Heyman's recent producing credits include the comedy *Yes Man*, starring Jim Carrey; Francis Lawrence's hit science fiction thriller *I Am Legend*, starring Will Smith; Mark Herman's acclaimed drama *The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas*, starring Vera Farmiga and David Thewlis; and the independent drama *Is Anybody There?*, directed by John Crowley and starring Michael Caine.

Heyman won ShoWest Producer of the Year Award in 2003, becoming the first British producer to have been presented with this honor.

John Lasseter won the Publicists Motion Picture Showman of the Year Award last year. Other recent winners include James Cameron, Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall, Judd Apatow and Amy Pascal with Michael Lynton. More than 1,000 industry leaders are expected to attend the awards luncheon.

Other awards to be presented include the Lifetime Achievement Award, which this year will go to Carol Burnett; the Television Showman of the Year Award, going to David Stapf, president of CBS Television Studios; the Press and International Media Awards; the Les Mason Award, the highest honor given to a publicist; the Bob Yeager Award, which goes to a publicist in recognition of outstanding community service; the Excellence in Still Photography Award for films and television; and the Maxwell Weinberg Showmanship Awards for outstanding publicity campaigns of 2010 in film and television.



David Heyman. Photo by Jaap Buitendijk

PRESS CONTACTS:

Leonard Morpurgo Mobile | 818-731-3513 leonard@publicity4all.com

Lindajo Loftus lindajo@publlicity4all.com Mobil | 310-497-8108 Weissman/Markovitz Communications 818-760-8995