## 48th ANNUAL ICG PUBLICISTS AWARDS

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## ICG Publicists Awards to be Presented February 25

**LOS ANGELES, CA.** – **The 48th Annual ICG Publicists Awards** will take place Friday, February 25, 2011, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. These awards recognize excellence in movie and television showmanship and publicity.

John Lasseter, Chief Creative Officer of Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios and Principal Creative Advisor, Walt Disney Imagineering, will be honored with the Motion Picture Showmanship Award. A two-time Academy Award®-winning director, Lasseter is a pioneer in the modern digital era of feature film animation. Beginning his career at Disney in the parks and then as an animator, Lasseter directed such beloved films as *Toy Story* and *Toy Story 2*, *A Bug's Life*, *Cars* and next year's *Cars 2*. Creatively overseeing all films from Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios, his executive producing credits include *Ratatouille*, *WALL*•*E*, *Up*, *The Princess and the Frog*, *Toy Story 3* and *Tangled*, among many others.

Sylvester Stallone, filmmaker-screenwriter-actor whose latest movie, *The Expendables*, was one of last year's major box office hits, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. He will be recognized for an extraordinary body of work, which includes roles that have become brands in their own right, from Rocky Balboa to *Rambo*. "Sly has made such an indelible mark on cultures across the globe that people in different parts of the world consider him to be their own," said Bollinger. "An indication of the impact a character he created has made on American culture is that a statue of Rocky Balboa was placed at the foot of the now-famous steps of the Philadelphia Art Museum."

Chairmen of 20th Century Fox Television Gary Newman and Dana Walden will be named 2011 Television Showmen of the Year in recognition of their outstanding showmanship that contributed to the success of the studio's shows, such as *Glee* and *Modern Family*. They have come to be recognized as quintessential television showmen.

The 2011 ICG Publicists Directory and resource book will be dedicated to veteran publicist Murray Weissman.

Recipients for other awards will announced at the luncheon. Nominees for these awards are:

**The Les Mason Award**, the highest honor paid a publicist for lifetime achievement: Jennifer Allen, Viewpoint, Inc.; Tony Angellotti, The Angellotti Company; Rob Harris, Unit Publicist; Michael Singer, Jerry Bruckheimer Films; and Murray Weissman, Weissman / Markovitz Communications.

**The Press Award**: Geoff Boucher, *Los Angeles Times*, *LA* Times Envelope; Jeff Jensen, *Entertainment Weekly*; Tom O'Neil, Gold Derby; Sharon Waxman, *TheWrap*; and Jeffrey Wells, *Hollywood Elsewhere*.

**The International Media Award**: Philip Berk, Australia/Malaysia; Jose Ignacio Cuenca, Spain; Elaine Lipworth, U.K.; James White, U.K.; and Stevie Wong, Asia Regional.

Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Motion Pictures and Television Awards, which recognize a photographer's significant contributions to the craft of unit still photography. For motion pictures, the nominees are Frank Masi, Jamie Trueblood, Darren Michaels, Barry Wetcher and Stephen Vaughan. In the Television category, the nominees are Michael Desmond, Danny Feld, Ron Jaffe, Robert Voets and Michael Yarish.

**The Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Awards**, which honor union publicists whose achievements in publicity and promotion during the previous calendar year. The nominees in the motion picture campaign category are *DESPICABLE ME* - Universal Pictures; *INCEPTION* - Warner Bros.; *SOCIAL NETWORK* - Sony; *TOY STORY 3* - Disney; *WAITING FOR SUPERMAN* - Paramount; and *WALL STREET: MONEY NEVER SLEEPS* - 20th Century Fox.

In the television category, the nominees are *THE BIG BANG THEORY* - Warner Brothers Television, CBS; *FRINGE* - Warner Bros Television, Fox Broadcasting; *THE GOOD WIFE* - CBS, CBS Productions; *VAMPIRE DIARIES* - Warner Bros Television, CW Network; and *THE WALKING DEAD* - AMC.

The recipient for **The Bob Yeager Award**, which recognizes significant community service, will be announced at the luncheon.

# # #