ICG 46th ANNUAL PUBLICISTS AWARDS

7755 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90046

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Tim Menke/ 310/369-1944

AP'S BOB THOMAS TO RECEIVE SPECIAL AWARD OF MERIT E!'S "THE SOUP" HOST JOEL McHale TO EMCEE

Los Angeles: Associate Press Hollywood correspondent Bob Thomas will receive the Special Award of Merit at the ICG 46th Annual Publicists Awards in recognition of an incredible 65 years with the wire service. Joel McHale, host of E! Entertainment's "The Soup," will emcee the award presentations Wednesday, February 18th, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

"Bob Thomas has been L.A.'s top newsman covering entertainment for the AP for an unprecedented number of years," said Henri Bollinger, Awards Committee chairman. "He has close ties to the Hollywood publicity community developed through his long tenure. His brother, George, was a respected publicists during most of those years."

Past recipients of the Special Award of Merit include Robert G. Friedman, Sheilah Graham, Gene Autry, Mac St. Johns, Clive Davis and Merv Griffin.

Other awards to be presented at the luncheon are the Motion Picture Showmanship Award, which this year will go writer-director-producer producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall; the Television Showmanship Award, which writer-producer Chuck Lorre will receive; the Lifetime Achievement Award, which Variety editor Peter Bart will receive; the Press Award; the International Media Award; the Maxwell Weinberg Award, which recognizes outstanding accomplishment in the field of publicity in movies and television; the Les Mason Award, given to a publicist for lifetime achievement; and the Bob Yeager Award, which recognizes significant community service.