

ICG 46th ANNUAL PUBLICISTS AWARDS

7755 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90046

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Tim Menke/ 310/369-1944

<u>KATHLEEN KENNEDY & FRANK MARSHALL RECEIVE</u> <u>MOTION PICTURE SHOWMANSHIP AWARD</u> <u>PRODUCER-WRITER CHUCK LORRE NAMED TV SHOWMAN OF THE YEAR</u> VARIETY ED. PETER BART HONORED WITH LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Beverly Hills, CA.: Hollywood publicity and marketing executives, producers, studio and network executives, celebrities and press gathered for the ICG 46th Annual Publicists Awards Wednesday (2/18) at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. "The Soup's" host Joe McHale emceed the ceremonies.

AMPAS President Sid Ganis presented the Motion Picture Showmanship Award to producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall. "Their track record throughout their careers demonstrates their understanding and appreciation of the role that publicity plays in the success of movies," said Ganis. Some of their productions include "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," which is enjoying record-setting box office returns, "E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial," "Jurassic Park" and "The Sixth Sense," which earned six Academy Award® nominations, including Best Picture.

Chuck Lorre, co-creator and executive producer of the hit Warner Bros. Television and CBS comedies "Two and a Half Men" and "The Big Bang Theory," was named 2009 Television Showman of the Year. "Under his guidance, 'Two and a Half Men' surpassed the 100-episode milestone in its fifth season and remains the number one comedy on network television," said Jon Cryer who presented the award.

Bill Maher presented Variety Editor-in-Chief Peter Bart with the Lifetime Achievement Award. "Peter has distinguished himself as a reporter for the New York Times, as executive vice president of production at Paramount Studios, as editor of Variety and as co-host of television's 'Shootout'," said Maher. "We honor him as he celebrates his 20th anniversary with Variety."

John Shaffner, Chairman of the Television Academy, presented a Special Award of Merit to Associate Press correspondent Bob Thomas as he celebrates his 60th year with the wire service. "Bob has long been regarded as the premier journalist covering Hollywood," said Shaffner. "The fact that he continues to cover this beat is a testament to his devotion to his craft and his ability to bring freshness and creativity to his reporting."

Rogers and Cowan co-Chairman Paul Bloch dedicated the 2009 Publicists Directory of Members to the memory of Warren Cowan, who passed away last year. "In a 60-year career, Warren represented a star-studded clientele that covered every facet of showbusiness," said Bloch. "He was a true visionary who earned the respect of his fellow publicists, the media and his clients. His love for show business was without peer."

Oscar nominee Taraji P. Henson (Curious Case of Benjamin Button) presented the Press Award to Claudia Puig of USA Today. The International Media Award went to Anke Hofman of Germany; the Les Mason Award, the highest honor the union can bestow on one of its members, went to Pat Kingsley who recently retired from PMK/HBH; the Bob Yeager Awards, which honors a publicist for community service, was presented to Cheri Warner; the Maxwell Weinberg Publicists Showmanship Award for Television was presented to Warner Bros. Television publicist Kristi Strupinsky; the Weinberg Award for Best Movie Campaign went to the publicists at Warner Bros. for their efforts in behalf of "*The Dark Knight*"; and the Excellence in Unit Still Photography Award went to Melinda Sue Gordon.

Presenters also included James Denton (Desperate Housewives), Eric Braeden (The Young & the Restless); and Sharon Case (The Young and the Restless).